My Cart

Mini Cart

Certified Sharia Expert (CSE)

CSE at a glance

2023 CSE launched 4 Modules 1 year practical experience requirement (PER) 325 hours of self-study required, at minimum 65+ Registration and examination centres

CSE is a fellowship program whose primary objective is to equip candidates with the technical knowledge and professional skills required to advise on how contracts, products, transactions, investments, as well as, profit and loss distribution mechanisms between Islamic Financial Institutions and investment account holders, including other related matters, should be in compliance with Shari’ah principles and rules as defined by AAOIFI standards. The program emphasizes practical knowledge and real-world applications to enhance and optimize the learning experience.


Why become a CSE Fellow?
In addition to becoming a member of our community of 2800+ AAOIFI fellows from 74 countries, the CSE fellowship offers a powerful learning experience and excellent career opportunities.
Powerful learning content

• The program is primarily based on AAOIFI Shari’ah standards which are the result of the industry’s founders’ and scholars’ knowledge, experience, and wisdom.
• In addition to Shari’ah, the program covers product development, accounting, risk management and governance promote multidisciplinary learning.
• By fulfilling the practical experience requirement (PER), CSE candidates will gain invaluable experience in contributing to activities of Shari’ah supervisory boards, Shari’ah compliance and product development.

Excellent career opportunities

• Regulatory and supervisory authorities are increasingly adopting AAOIFI standards, creating a demand for personnel who can correctly interpret and implement the standards.
• CSE is backed by AAOIFI – an institution which is widely regarded as one of the most influential standard-setting institutions in the global Islamic finance industry.
• Globally, regulators, Islamic financial institutions, professional accounting organisations, and training centers are expected to recognise CSE as benchmark qualification in Shari’ah.

Language: Currently, the program is offered in Arabic.
Eligibility criteria:To be eligible for CSE fellowship, candidates must hold a bachelor’s in Shari’ah and law studies from a reputable traditional school or university, or an equivalent degree / qualification.
Registration deadlines for 2024 examinations:  For the March examination 04 February 2024 and For the September examination 22 August 2024
Curriculum: CSE consists of four modules and a one-year practical experience requirement (PER).
Module 1: Shari’ah Standards (SS) - 30%
Module 2: Islamic Financial Structuring and Development (IFSD) - 30%
Module 3: AAOIFI Technical Standards (ATS)   - 20%
Module 4: Business and Regulatory Environment (BRE)  - 20%
practical experience requirement (PER)
Duration: 1 year
Place of PER: Any pre-approved institution
Supervisor: Any pre-approved Shari’ah scholar
Deliverable: Submission of periodic and final reports to AAOIFI
Requirement: Fulfilment of Shari’ah-related work performed for IFIs
Exemption: Provided on a case-by-case basis. Alternative to PER: candidates will be required to submit two 5,000-7,000 word research papers on a pre-approved Shari’ah-related topic.


Exemption: Module exemption(s): Exemption(s) are generally offered as tabularised hereunder:

Module Name Exemption criteria
SS CSAA or CSA fellowships
IFSD No exemption
ATS CIPA or CSA fellowships
BRE CIPA or CSA fellowships or any professional qualification by a body recognised by IFAC


PER exemption: Criteria for partial and full exemption from PER is as follows:

Partial (6-months exemption) Full exemption
• 3 years of experience in a Shari’ah related field in an Islamic financial institution. • More than 3 years of experience in Shari’ah related field in an Islamic financial institution.
Fees and discounts: 
The CSE program fees is USD 2,200. The fee comprises the registration fee, four study texts, four mock examinations (one per module), four examination sittings (one per module), the PER fee, and the CSE certificate fee (including its postal expenses).

You can register with us to avail the TAIF Group discount, fill out the forms at  or write to us at

TAIF Discount for Non-GCC (USD770)

TAIF Discount for GCC (USD1430)


Examinations: The 2024 examination schedule is as follows

Module Window 1  Window 2 Duration (hrs) Formate
IFSD 4 March 2024 23 September 2024 3 Multiple Choice | Questions (MCQs)| and scenario vignettes
ATS 5 March 2024 24 September 2024 2 Multiple Choice | Questions (MCQs)| and scenario vignettes
BRE 5 March 2024 24 September 2024 2 Multiple Choice | Questions (MCQs)| and scenario vignettes
SS 6 March 2024 25 September 2024 3 Multiple Choice | Questions (MCQs)| and scenario vignettes


CSE fellowship: To become a fellow of the CSE, the candidate must:

1. pass all four modules (or qualify for module exemption(s)); 2. earn a passing grade in PER; 3. meet the eligibility criteria; and 4. pay any applicable dues.

* for latest information, visit